Meet Author Troy Jackson

The Elementals by Troy Jackson

We continue our series of author interviews today with Troy Jackson. Born in 1974 in Grand Rapids, Michigan, Troy moved to the great state of Georgia with his family at the age of three where he as lived ever since. Currently he resides outside the city of Atlanta with his loving wife and daughter. His passion for history, fantasy, and science fiction began at an early age with a little nudge from his older brother. Attending Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville, Georgia he received a Bachelor’s Degree in History and a Master’s Degree in Teaching. In his spare time he enjoys being with his family, watching and partaking in sports. Although new to the profession, he intends on writing about subjects that have always fascinated him, including fantasy, adventure, science fiction and history.

Here’s here to talk about his new novel, The Elementals:


1) Tell us about yourself – what do you like to write?  How long have you written?  What prompted you to start writing?

I am a lover of all-things fantasy, historical, and science fiction, both reading and writing.  I have written for many years, but “professionally” I would say only the last few years.  I have always enjoyed writing, and used to always “gaze at the stars” and wonder what it would be like to finally write something and have it published.  A few years ago I decided to finally put the wheels in motion and actually do it.
2) What types of books do you like to read?

Again, anything fantasy, historical, or science fiction.

3) Do you have another author that you model yourself after?

I like a number of authors, especially Robert Jordan (and now Brandon Sanderson), who wrote the Wheel of Time series.  David Eddings.  C.S. Lewis.  J.R.R. Tolkein.  More recent ones I’d say Dan Brown, Tom Clancy, or James Patterson.
4) What inspires you to write one?

An idea pops in my head and I have to jot it down at least and hope that one day I’ll get around to it.  I’d recommend this to anyone thinking of writing.  You don’t want to forget!
5) When a story idea pops into your head, how long does it typically take to write it (from start to finish)?

Well, I have written one novel, and I’d say from start to finish it took over 2 years.  It’s an arduous project, but when it’s complete, it’s a fantastic feeling!
6) What did you find to be the most difficult part of the writing process?  Easiest?

Most difficult is definitely editing.  I can only read something so many times before I start to cringe.  It’s why I then had a few others look it over with fresh eyes.  Easiest I would say is the original writing of it, although it took a long time.
7) Tell us about your book?  Where can readers find it?  Do you have a website?  Blog?
The Elementals is a novel that can fit into many genres and sub-genres including fantasy, supernatural, historical fiction, historical fantasy, and action.  It takes place some 2200 years ago during the reign of the First Emperor of China.  He was the first to unify the country after hundreds of years of warfare.  Some say he was a savior, others called him a tyrant.  The book picks up actual events that occurred back then, but I add my own supernatural twist to it as we follow an insurgent organization called the Dragon’s Spite who wish to supplant the Emperor.  But first they must seek out three young teenagers that unknowingly hold vast elemental powers that could bring balance back to the region.  Will they locate the girls before the Emperor, who wishes to bend them to his will?
My website, which includes my blog, is at:
http://www.tempestworks.com
My press release is at:
The Elementals can be found at a number of locations including:
AMAZON:
BARNES AND NOBLE:
It is also in ebook format, so check your app store (for Kindle, Nook, i-Books, etc.)

 

Now it's your turn...

