Meet Author Zrinka Jelic

Zrinka C. Jelic
Romantic fantasies powered by history

Bonded by Crimson ~ A paranormal romance  
Treasured Chest ~ A pirate’s romance

Hi Zrinka! Who are you and what do you do? 

I am a mom of two boys by day and writer by night, or whenever I grab a moment.
What project-in-progress would you like to discuss today? 
I’m trying to complete my third novel, a paranormal romance under the working title “Love Remains”. It’s a story dedicated to al working women, but especially those who have forgone the option of having a family for their own for career. It’s a story of what if…?
What inspired you to take on a project like this? 
In my work as a temporary office clerk, I’ve seen many women who dedicated themselves to the company and got nothing to show for it. The stay at work after hours, they come in on weekends, they take projects home to work on them. And worse of all, they despise of women who run out at 5 o’clock sharp to pick up the kids from daycare.
How do you find the time to write?  
Good question, I wonder myself. But I squeeze a few hours each day.Usually in the evening after dinner and when kitchen’s all cleaned up.  
How did you get from Croatia to Canada?  
Something that doesn’t exist any more, JAT or Jugosavenski (Yugoslav) Air Transport. My sister was here by then and a few relatives. It smelled of war back home and sure enough there was one. So I escaped it by a couple of years.
If you could time-travel, where would you want to live?  
Not sure I’d go back into history. Life back then was harsh and brutal and no one had it good. I think I’d go into the future, but I’d be too afraid to find out what’s waiting there.
Write me a story in three sentences, 100 words or less. 
I can tell you a joke in three sentences. A man comes to hospital and doctor tells him “Congrats, It’s a boy.” He steps to his wife’s bed and says, “Oh a boy. So who does a little guy resemble?” His wife says, “What can I tell you, honey. You don’t know the man.”
When you aren’t writing, what do you like to do? 
Read, work out at the gym or at home, go for walks, travel.
Where can we find out more about you and your books?
You can go to my blog www.bondedbycrimson.blogspot.ca 
My Facebook author page Zrinka Jelic Author 


What advice would you give to a budding writer?  

Never to give up. They don’t know if they have that next bestseller until it’s written and published, but if they don’t get it out there, they’ll never know. And yes, it may not be the best book ever, but someone will like it and someone won’t. Don’t be afraid to put your heart out there, I know it can be frightening. But take good along with the bad.
Find me on: Facebook   Twitter
Visit my  Blog    


8 thoughts on “Meet Author Zrinka Jelic

  1. Debbie Christiana

    Hi Zrinka, Very interesting interview. Nice job. Someday you should write about your close call with war and your family. I know you visited this summer, did they all stay or leave and return. I find all those kinds of things so interesting. Although war is never an easy subject. And that was a cruel one.

    On to a lighter subject: great joke, LOL.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Libricz

    Hi Everyone. Zrinka: my pleasure! I had to read the joke to my son because he wanted to know why I was laughing. And you are welcome back anytime as a guest blogger.

    Time travel: that's the key–if you could decide how long you wanted to stay. It would sure make research for historical novels easier!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Firetulip

    Thanks for stopping by, Debbie. Yeah, I have a couple of ideas for a possible war or post war stories. My family for the most part left then returned. It wasn't easy for them being away and not knowing what they'll find when they return or if they'll get to go home at all. It was hard on all of us.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Firetulip

    Hi Bev and thanks for stopping by. I often think about time travel and more I think about it, more I think it's a good thing that's impossible. Imagine if everyone goes back in time and changes the course of history. Every day we wouldn't know what to find when we wake up.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Firetulip

    Thanks Laura, glad you liked the joke. I love short and to the point kind of jokes. I have a friend who just don't know how to tell a joke. She forgets how it goes, then tries to start over, and half an hour later, she still tries to tell the same joke. It's funny in itself.
    Yes, time travel would make research easier, but only if we could be invisible to the people living in the past. And if we can't interfere, kind of like flies on the wall.

    Like

    Reply

Now it's your turn...

