Meet Author A. L. Jambor

Author Amy Jambor is here today to discuss her series Pello Island

Why A.L?
My first name is Amy.  When I started writing, I wrote a science fiction novel and I wanted it to be more accessible to both sexes.  I often feel that men won’t read a book by a woman, although I may be wrong so please don’t shoot me.

Who are you and what do you do? 
I am a full-time writer with a lovely supportive husband.

What project-in-progress would you like to discuss today?
The last book in my series “Pello Island” is in proof and I am hoping to get it published soon.  There are four books in the series starting with Pello Island Cassia, followed by Darius Pello Island 2 and Antonia Pello Island 3.  I’ve been getting positive feedback and reviews, and I’m expanding distribution through Smashwords and Kobo, but that takes time.  The blurb I use on the product pages for the books is:

Pello Island is a prison colony just south of Sicily.  Two thousand years ago, Darius, a Roman nobleman, is sent there for a crime he didn’t commit.  The girl he loves, Cassia, vows to join him there in six months.  What happens on Pello Island – a catastrophic event – will cause the rebirth of certain Pello Island residents over and over for two thousand years.  This book is a blend of past and present, and the characters are flawed and growing through each lifetime until Jupiter, the king of the gods, gives the Parcae, the sisters goddesses responsible for finding new bodies for our travelers through time so that they can fulfill their original destinies, an ultimatum – they must have the Pello Islanders settled in two years, or they will be sealed in Hades forever.
 What inspired you to take on a project like this?

Honestly, being large all my life, including early childhood.  I always wondered what it would be like to live in a thin body.  As a kid, I had no idea that when you take on someone else’s body, you take on all their troubles, too.  Now, although I find the idea of walking in the shoes of a thin woman interesting, I wouldn’t want to do it permanently, unless I had a health certificate and a bank statement!

How do you find the time to write?
I have the luxury of not having to work an outside job or raise children, so I have a lot of time to write.  It’s a good thing, too, because social network marketing is like a full-time job!

What are your ‘popular novel’ pet-peeves?
Books that rise to the top even though they aren’t well-written, but simply have a publisher’s pedigree, like fifty shades of them.  Independent writers are often more concerned about their reader base, understand the importance of good editing, put a lot of thought into their covers, and know their readers well.  Self-publishing is finally getting some respect as more legitimate sources are reviewing them and spreading the word that even though there are some bad self-published books, there are twice as many good one.  In fact, I’ve read some great self-published books lately, and I’m doing my best to support those authors by reviewing and twittering, etc.

If you could time-travel, where would you want to live?  
Years ago, I would have said during Victorian times because I loved their houses.  HA!  I was young, wasn’t I?  Now that I am older, I’m glad I’m where I am because the opportunities available to women and older people in general are here and now.  I guess my romantic side has collided with my pragmatic side, and the pragmatist won.

Write me a story in three sentences, 100 words or less.  
The cat keeps looking at me; why do I suspect his intentions?  His eyes watch as I rise from my chair, and his tails twitches back and forth like a pendulum of doom.  He is waiting for me to cross his path so he can weave his body through my legs, this evil denizen from hell, this sweet looking feline with a warm fluffy body; no, he’s wicked, he’s not cuddly and cute with a coochy face, oh you sweet thing, OUCH, you bit me!

When you aren’t writing, what do you like to do?
I love watching movies and being with my husband.  I’m more a home gal who loves comfort.  My husband is disabled so we have to find activities he can enjoy.

Where can we find out more about you and your books? 
All of my books are currently listed on Amazon in Kindle and paperback.

 

What advice would you give to a budding writer?
Just start writing.  Don’t care what anyone thinks of your writing because like any other talent, it needs to grow.  The old joke about “How to you get to Carnegie Hall?  Practice,” is true.  My fourth book is better than my first book because I learned a lot in the past two years.  Don’t let anyone tell you you’ll never make a living at it either.  Bruce Springsteen’s father told his son the same thing, and thank God Bruce didn’t listen to him.  And read criticism with a grain of salt.  It is necessary and some of it will help you see some things you’ve missed, but ignore the hurtful ones because they are usually not constructive.

Twitter: ALJambor


2 thoughts on “Meet Author A. L. Jambor

Now it's your turn...

